How to bet on the ATP Finals

Logo_Tennis_ATP Finals 64x64

What are the ATP Finals?

The ATP Finals is the final major tournament of the tennis calendar, and is the official season-ending tournament of the ATP Tour.

While not considered a Grand Slam, the championship carries additional weight in the tennis schedule, as it features the players that have performed the best over the preceding 12 months of competition.

The tournament itself features the top eight singles players from the ATP Tour, as well as the top eight doubles teams. The format differs from the single-elimination bracket format used by most tennis championships. Instead, the ATP Finals features two groups of four players (and teams), who play in a round-robin format, with the top two from each group qualifying for the semi-finals.

The ATP Finals has been held in 15 different cities since its inception in 1970, with Turin in Italy currently hosting the tournament for a five-year block until 2025. The 2022 ATP Finals will take place from November 13 to 20 at the Pala Alpitour.

Tennis_French Open_Alexander Zverev
© Susan Mullane-USA TODAY Sports

The best tennis sportsbooks


Who won last year's ATP Finals?

The 2021 ATP Finals were won by Germany’s Alexander Zverev, who defeated Russia’s Daniil Medvedev in the final after beating world number one Novak Djokovic in the semi-finals. This was Zverev’s second ATP Finals title, having won his first in 2018 after beating Djokovic in the final.

The doubles title went to the French pair of Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut, who defeated USA’s Rajeev Ram and Great Britain’s Joe Salisbury in the final. Again, this was the pair’s second title, having previously also won in 2019.

ATP Finals history

The ATP Finals was initially launched as the Masters Grand Prix, and took place as a rival tournament to the WCT Finals. At the time, the tournament did not award ranking points, and was instead served as more of a showcase of the tour’s best players.

The championship was taken over by the ATP, who rebranded the tournament the ATP Tour World Championships, with ranking points up for grabs that rivalled those on offer for Grand Slam titles. Another tournament, the ITF’s Grand Slam Cup, featured the 16 players with the best Grand Slam performances of that year. Eventually, the ATP and ITF agreed to merge the two championships to create one end-of-season showcase tournament, called the Tennis Masters Cup. That was renamed to the ATP World Tour Finals in 2009, and then in 2017, that was changed to the simpler name used today, the ATP Finals.

The championships were initially held on an annual basis with a different city taking hosting duties each year. However, from 1977 to 1989, the championship set up home at Madison Square Garden in New York. Germany then took over hosting duties from 1990, with Frankfurt hosting from 1990 to 1995 and Hanover staging the event from 1996 to 1999. More recently, London has been home to the ATP Finals, with the O2 Arena hosting the tournament every year from 2009 to 2020. As mentioned, Pala Alpitour in Turin, Italy secured the rights to host the ATP Finals from 2021 to 2025.

Tennis_Western and Southern Open_Daniil Medvedev
© Sam Greene/The Enquirer / USA TODAY NETWORK

ATP Finals winners





Novak Djokovic

Marcel Granollers and Marc López


Novak Djokovic

David Marrero and Fernando Verdasco


Novak Djokovic

Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan


Novak Djokovic

Jean-Julien Rojer and Horia Tecau


Andy Murray

Henri Kontinen and John Peers


Grigor Dimitrov

Henri Kontinen and John Peers


Alexander Zverev

Jack Sock and Mike Bryan


Stefanos Tsitsipas

Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut


Daniil Medvedev

Wesley Koolhof and Nikola Mektić


Alexander Zverev

Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut

ATP Finals FAQs

Which player has won the most ATP Finals titles?
Who are the favorites to win the next ATP Finals?
How can I watch the ATP Finals in Canada?

Our tennis guides are written by BET.CA's in-house team, who are passionate fans of the tennis majors and ATP Finals. We can help you out with how to bet on all the action that unfolds on the court.

BET.CA staff
BET.CA staff