How to bet on the Australian Open

Logo_Tennis_Australian Open 64x64

What is the Australian Open?

The Australian Open is the first Grand Slam tournament of the tennis calendar, and is considered the traditional curtain-raiser for the sport each year.

The event was first held in 1905, and has been staged at Melbourne Park since 1988, with the city itself hosting the tournament since 1972.

The 2022 tournament was the 110th edition of the competition, with a total prize fund of around $48 million up for grabs.

The matches themselves are played on a hard court surface, with the 14,800-seat Rod Laver Arena (named after one of Australia's greatest tennis players) hosting the final each year.

The 2023 Australian Open will the next tennis Grand Slam to take place, and is scheduled for January 16 to 29, 2023.

Tennis_Western and Southern Open_Ashleigh Barty
© Susan Mullane-USA TODAY Sports

The best tennis sportsbooks


Who won the last Australian Open?

The 2022 Australian Open saw an all-time great and a home-grown hero claim the singles championships as Rafael Nadal and Ashleigh Barty captured the men's and women's titles. Nadal earned his second Australian Open title in dramatic fashion, beating Daniil Medvedev in the final after being two sets down. Meanwhile, Barty became the first woman to win the Australian Open since Christine O’Neil in 1978.

In the doubles competitions, the men's tournament was won by Nick Kyrgios and Thanasi Kokkinakis, while Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova claimed the women's title. The mixed doubles title was won by the team of Kristina Mladenovic and Ivan Dodig.

Australian Open history

Initially launched in 1905 as the Australasian Championships, the tournament was renamed the Australian Championships in 1927. Then, in a further refresh, it became the Australian Open.

The championship has been held 110 times since its inception, with five Australian cities playing host to the tournament over the years. Sydney has hosted 17 times, with Adelaide (15), Brisbane (7) and Perth (3) also playing host to the tournament.

It has even been staged in New Zealand on two occasions, with Christchurch and Hastings hosting the event in 1906 and 1912 respectively.

However, the long-established home of the Australian Open is Melbourne. It has hosted the tournament 66 times to date, with the event taking up permanent residence in the city from 1972.

Matches were originally played at the Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club before the tournament outgrew the facilities and the championship was moved to Flinders Park in 1988.

Tennis_Australian Open_Rod Laver Arena

Australian Open winners


Men’s singles

Women’s singles

Men’s doubles

Women’s doubles

Mixed doubles


Novak Djokovic

Victoria Azarenka

Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan

Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci

Matthew Ebden and Jarmila Gajdosova


Stan Wawrinka

Li Na

Lukasz Kubot and Robert Lindstedt

Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci

Daniel Nestor and Kristina Mladenovic


Novak Djokovic

Serena Williams

Simone Bolelli and Fabio Fognini

Bethanie Mattek-Sands and Lucie Safarova

Martina Hingis and Leander Paes


Novak Djokovic

Angelique Kerber

Jamie Murray and Bruno Soares

Martina Hingis and Sania Mirza

Bruno Soares and Elena Vesnina


Roger Federer

Serena Williams

Henri Kontinen and John Peers

Bethanie Mattek-Sands and Lucie Safarova

Abigail Spears and Juan Sebastian Cabal


Roger Federer

Caroline Wozniacki

Oliver Marach and Mate Pavic

Timea Babos and Kristina Mladenovic

Gabriela Dabrowski and Mate Pavic


Novak Djokovic

Naomi Osaka

Pierre-Hugues Herbert and

Samantha Stosur and Zhang Shuai

Barbora Krejcikova and Rajeev Ram


Novak Djokovic

Sofia Kenin

Rajeev Ram and Joe Salisbury

Timea Babos and Kristina Mladenovic

Barbora Krejcikova and Nikola Mektic


Novak Djokovic

Naomi Osaka

Ivan Dodig and Filip Polasek

Elise Mertens and Aryna Sabalenka

Barbora Krejcikova and Rajeev Ram


Rafael Nadal

Ashleigh Barty

Thanasi Kokkinakis and Nick Kyrgios

Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova

Kristina Mladenovic and Ivan Dodig

Australian Open FAQs

Which player has won the most Australian Open titles?
Who are the favorites to win the next Australian Open?
How can I watch the Australian Open in Canada?

Our tennis guides are written by BET.CA's in-house team, who are passionate fans of the tennis majors and ATP Finals. We can help you out with how to bet on all the action that unfolds on the court.

BET.CA staff
BET.CA staff