How to bet on Wimbledon

Logo_Tennis_Wimbledon 64x64

What is Wimbledon?

The Wimbledon Championship (known worldwide simply as Wimbledon) is the third Grand Slam tournament of the tennis calendar, and is broadly considered the most prestigious tennis tournament in the world.

The event was first held in 1877, at the tournament’s home at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club.

The event is the only Grand Slam tournament held on grass courts, with Wimbledon’s Centre Court considered by many to be the greatest arena in tennis.

The tournament has a strict all-white dress code for players, while fans enjoy traditional Wimbledon food including their world-famous strawberries and cream between matches.

The next edition of Wimbledon is scheduled to take place from July 3 to 16, 2023.

Tennis_Wimbledon_Elena Rybakina
© Peter van den Berg-USA TODAY Sports

The best tennis sportsbooks


Who won the last Wimbledon?

The 2022 Wimbledon men’s singles championship was won by Serbia’s Novak Djokovic, who defeated Australia’s Nick Kyrgios in four sets to claim his seventh Wimbledon men’s singles title.

The women’s title was won by Kazakhstan’s Elena Rybakina, who came from a set down to defeat Tunisia’s Ons Jabeur and make history by becoming the first Kazakhstani players to win a major tennis title.

The Australian pair of Matthew Ebden and Max Purcell took home the men’s doubles title, while the Czech duo of Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova claimed the women’s doubles crown. Great Britain’s Neal Skupsi and the USA’s Desirae Krawczyk took the mixed doubles championship.

Wimbledon history

The first ever Wimbledon Championship was held in 1877, with the first women’s tournament being held from 1884. The prize for the winner was 12 guineas – a far cry from the estimated $62 million awarded at the most recent edition of the tournament in 2022. An interesting feature of the early tournaments was that the defending champion automatically progressed to the following year’s final, until that rule was abolished in 1922.

Wimbledon has been held nearly every year since its first tournament, pausing only between 1915 to 1918 and 1940 to 1945 due to World Wars I and II respectively, and in 2020 when it was cancelled as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Homegrown singles success has been a notably rare occurrence at the tournament, with no British man winning the singles title for 77 years until Andy Murray did so in 2013 and no British woman being able to do so since Virginia Wade in 1977. No Canadian player has ever won a singles title at Wimbledon, although Milos Raonic reached the men’s final in 2016 and Eugenie Bouchard lost the women’s final in 2014.

Tennis_Wimbledon_Novak Djovokic
© Susan Mullane-USA TODAY Sports

Wimbledon winners


Men’s singles

Women’s singles

Men’s doubles

Women’s doubles

Mixed doubles


Andy Murray

Marion Bartoli

Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan

Hsieh Su-wei and Peng Shuai

Daniel Nestor and Kristina Mladenovic


Novak Djokovic

Petra Kvitova

Vasek Pospisil and Jack Sock

Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci

Nenad Zimonjic and Samantha Stosur


Novak Djokovic

Serena Williams

Jean-Julien Rojer and Horia Tecau

Martina Hingis and Sania Mirza

Leander Paes and Martina Hingis


Andy Murray

Serena Williams

Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut

Serena Williams and Venus Williams

Henri Kontinen and Heather Watson


Roger Federer

Garbine Muguruza

Lukasz Kubot and Marcelo Melo

Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina

Jamie Murray and Martina Hingis


Novak Djokovic

Angelique Kerber

Mike Bryan and Jack Sock

Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova

Alexander Peya and Nicole Melichar


Novak Djokovic

Simona Halep

Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah

Hsieh Su-wei and Barbora Strycova

Latisha Chan and Ivan Dodig


Cancelled due to COVID-19

Cancelled due to COVID-19

Cancelled due to COVID-19

Cancelled due to COVID-19

Cancelled due to COVID-19


Novak Djokovic

Ashleigh Barty

Nilkola Mektic and Mate Pavic

Hsieh Su-wei and Elise Mertens

Neal Skupski and Desirae Krawczyk


Novak Djokovic

Elena Rybakina

Matthew Ebden and Max Purcell

Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova

Neal Skupski and Desirae Krawczyk

Wimbledon FAQs

Which player has won the most Wimbledon titles?
Who are the favorites to win next year's Wimbledon?
How can I watch Wimbledon in Canada?

Our tennis guides are written by BET.CA's in-house team, who are passionate fans of the tennis majors and ATP Finals. We can help you out with how to bet on all the action that unfolds on the court.

BET.CA staff
BET.CA staff